Does Migration Assistant Transfer Everything Title Image

Just bought a new Mac? (A present to yourself for being oh so good).

And now you want to move your files, documents, photos, everything from your old Mac. Onto your new one.

Migration Assistant is the way recommended by Apple.

Some say it’s better than other transfer methods.

But does that mean it actually transfers everything?

Here’s What You Need to Know …

Migration Assistant Doesn’t Transfer The Operating System?

No. You can move everything else from your old Mac. All except MacOS itself.

And if you think about it. If Migration Assistant moved MacOS from your old Mac to your new it likely wouldn’t work.

And you’d have all sorts of issues with a version of the OS that works fine on your 5 year old Mac. But doesn’t run on your new Mac.

On a new Mac you use Setup Assistant to build and set up your new Mac. Your new Mac is at that point a fresh virgin install.

Ready for your personal files and setup.

What Does Migration Assistant Transfer?

Migration Assistant does a great job of transferring everything else. And the beauty of using Migration Assistant compared to manually moving everything yourself. Is that it puts things where they should be.

User files moved across to where you expect them to be on your New Mac.

Your photos moved from where they were on your old Mac to where they should be on your new.  Your music from iTunes on your old Mac to the Apple Music app on your new Mac. Calendar entries from old to new.

Migration Assistant works out which applications your new MacOS supports. And which applications no longer run because Apple replaced them. Like iPhoto now replace by Photos.

You get a clear sign the old app won’t run.

The picture of the app appears greyed out with a line through it.

How Does Migration Organize Your File Shift?

Migration Assistant sorts your files into sets or groups.

You’ve an application group. User file group, Other files and folders. And your system and network settings.

Inside Migration Assistant you can put a check mark against a set of files and just migrate those.

Migration Assistant 5th Screen

That means you’ve some limited choice about what you choose to migrate.

Put a check mark against all the options and migrate it all.

What Does Migration Assistant Transfer?

Move Your Applications

Put a check mark against your applications in Migration Assistant. And it’ll go through your Applications folder and move your apps over. It finds the parts of your apps that you would miss if you tried to move the app manually. For example, move the app’s library files to where they need to be.

The software moves all your applications.

And that means yes, it’ll move all your Apps. Including the old ones that won’t run. Or apps you haven’t used for years.

You’ve a choice you can either tidy up what you don’t want moved before you start Migration Assistant. Or uninstall after from your new Mac once migrated across.

Or just fresh install your applications on the new Mac. And not use Migration Assistant to move your Apps.

Shift Your User Files

This is the group of files you’re likely to want Migration Assistant to move for you.

It’ll take the entire list of files associated with. And under your user name and move them and your user profile to your new Mac.

That means your files like photos, music, documents, everything.

Neat.

But again, what if there are files you don’t want moved?

If they are on the old Mac they get carried over.

For most users using Migration Assistant for your user profile and files is fine.

Migration Assistent User Name

Other Files And Folders

Is a catch all. For everything else that doesn’t fit into the other sets of files.

Move System & Network Settings

Is a boon when you want your new Mac system to recognize and be set up on the networks you use. Migration Assistant takes your system and network settings and shift those settings over.

Disadvantages To What Migration Assistant Transfers

And by that I mean all the old redundant stuff on your Mac.

Old software you no longer use. Bits of software where you only half deleted what you needed to. Old libraries no longer in use.

Because Migration Assistant will move it all. You’ll get all that rubbish as well.

But really unless you know what you’re looking for and how to tidy it up you might as well just get it all over.

If you’d prefer to bring stuff across as cleanly as possible it’ll take a little bit of preparation. And effort with your old Mac.

This document here on the site will talk you through a clean up before your move with Migration Assistant. Checkout the Non-Techie section.

What Do You Need Before You Can Transfer With Migration Assistant?

You can transfer your files Mac to Mac over WIFI. And as long as both the old and the new Mac are on the same WIFI network and can see each other your good to go.

But.

Shifting things this way can be really slow.

It depends on how great your WIFI is. How old and slow your old Mac is.

Far better is a direct Mac to Mac connection over Ethernet.

Or just as good. Take a backup of your old Mac to an external drive and transfer from a Time Machine backup.

A Time Machine backup of your old Mac is a fantastic idea anyway. Especially if one of the reasons you’re upgrading is because of problems with your old Mac.

A Time Machine based transfer puts no strain on your old Mac while the move happens.

Does Apple Migration Assistant Copy Or Move Your Files?

Migration Assistant copies your files and set up over. It doesn’t move your files or change your old Mac in anyway. And this means your old Mac stays exactly the same.

What Happens To My Old Mac After Using Migration Assistant?

Nothing. It’s just the same. Migration Assistant makes no changes to your old Mac.

You’re free to decide what to do with your old Mac. Keep it for a while in case you need something from it. Or wipe it and reset it to its factory settings before gifting it. Or selling it.

Does Migration Assistant Wipe My New Mac?

No. Migration Assistant copies your files onto your new Mac and puts them where they should be on your new Mac.

The only limited exception to this is where you have a user name on your new Mac that’s the same as a user name on your old Mac. You’re then given a choice.

You can choose to overwrite the user name information on your new Mac. With the user name information from your old Mac.

Which is the option to choose when you know your Mac is new. And you know there’s nothing stored under that user name. And everything you want is on your old Mac.

Or choose have both names both side by side.

Overwriting a user name with the user information and files from your old Mac is fully your choice.

It’s the same with your system and network settings. By using Migration Assistant to copy those across. You’ll replace those settings with the ones from your old Mac.

In Closing

Now you know that migration assistant will bring across everything from your old Mac, to your new Mac.

Migration Assistant simplifies your life. And makes the switch between Macs as painless as possible.

You can move your files and settings without hassle.

You may think this is best article you’ve ever read… or not. Either way. Why not have a gander at some of the other articles on the site?

Related Articles

Restore From Time Machine To A New Mac (Whoosh)

What Should I Transfer To My New Mac [Non Techie Or Techie]

How Long Does Migration Assistant Take? [Real Examples]

Migration Assistant VS Time Machine Now Know The Difference

Can Migration Assistant Transfer Individual Applications

How To Transfer Applications From One Mac To Another

References:

Move Your Content To A New Mac

Transfer Your Information To Mac From Another Computer